A question about Openstack

At the openstack design summit, I had the opportunity to talk to many people about the project. I got some good feedback, but as a rule people that attended the summit were biased towards positive comments. So, I would like to ask a broader audience.

What are we doing right and what are we doing wrong?  If you like it, why?  Are you attracted to the openness of the project, the fact that so many companies are involved, …?  If you don’t like it, have you looked closely, and what did you find that you didn’t like?  What would it take to win you over?

Please leave comments.

27 Responses to “A question about Openstack”


  1. 1 Christian Reilly November 13, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Rick,

    For a second design summit, I think the traction around the OpenStack community and the products is excellent. There is clearly a lot of interest with many large (and small) technology partners jostling to find their position in the near and long term.

    From my perspective, it’s somewhat interesting as both an “open” platform (clearly that is an advantage of other like offerings) and also from an infrastructure efficiency standpoint – but the key piece in my opinion that will really make a difference is “how much further up the stack will you go”.

    As I said in my presentation, server virtualization, efficient compute and object storage are great building blocks but the real business value (and the one I think will help sell OpenStack to CIOs and not CTOs) is in how application workloads are built, deployed and managed on top of enabling infrastructure platforms. This is where enterprises (not necessarily cloud providers who just care about IaaS) will be attracted to a real value proposition.

    There will also need to be a solid commercial support model around this, from a selection of trusted and respected parties. To use an analogy, CentOS is very attractive as an alternative to Red Hat, but there is very little in the way of comprehensive support – hence we don’t use it for production workloads.

    In short, I think the inertia is fantastic, but it’s more than just IaaS that will turn large corporations away from other comparable products as this race hots up.

    Christian

  2. 2 Nati November 13, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    Hi Rick and Christian

    I think “how much further up the stack will you go” is important topic too.
    For example,which one is in the openstack scope?

    OpenStack CPU
    OpenStack Linux kernel
    OpenStack VPN
    OpenStack RDS
    OpenStack AutoScale
    OpenStack CloudWatch
    OpenStack App Engine
    OpenStack CRM
    OpenStack Bug Tracking System
    OpenStack Twitter
    OpenStack Blog
    OpenStack Mail
    OpenStack SpreadSheet

    I checked the definition of scope.

    http://www.slideshare.net/openstackcommgr/openstack-architecture-board

    However, there are many version of definition of “Cloud”.

    Nati

  3. 3 @somic November 15, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    If possible, would like to hear your thoughts about transferring the project’s governance to the Apache Software Foundation.

    • 4 dendrobates November 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

      I have been asked this question frequently. I have great admiration for the Apache Software Foundation, and think in general that foundations are a good choice.
      In my humble, and possibly ignorant opinion, the Apache Software Foundation is a great place for a project in two common cases:

      When you need the incubation and attention that can come from the incubator. This is usually nascent projects that need help growing a community.

      When you are a very large project and need organization and governance that the ASF can provide. Projects built internally by large companies, like the former Sun Microsystems, fall into this category.

      When we were starting this we felt that we fell in between these two extremes. The growth has been tremendous and we probably are tipping closer to the second category.

      Plus, we have some ideas of our own. We see openstack as a group of tightly integrated components/projects that have a coordinated release and integrated testing. While I don’t think that necessarily conflicts with the ASF, I think we like the ability to experiment with organization until we get it right for us.

      I, personally, would love to see the source in some kind of foundation, after we prove we can meet the needs of our main contributors, Rackspace and NASA.

  4. 5 loana plus que quatre mois �ivre April 30, 2013 at 11:14 am

    Hey there great blog! Does running a blog such as this require a lot of work?
    I’ve virtually no knowledge of computer programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic however I simply had to ask. Cheers!

  5. 6 cloud service September 17, 2013 at 9:50 am

    Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really
    understand what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked.

    Please additionally consult with my web site =). We can have a link alternate
    contract among us

  6. 7 online phone finder October 17, 2013 at 9:55 am

    The incoming , outgoing call records as well as the times, dates and duration of the
    phone calls are all stored on the internal memory of the cell phone.
    The cell phone spy software is a piece of spyware that makes it possible for
    anyone to traveler on what another mobile phone user does regarding his
    or her phone with the cell phone consumer getting to
    find out precisely what is going on. The first one to go
    for their phone to check messages, make a call or even to check the
    weather, ends up paying for the entire dinner bill.

  7. 8 people cell phone October 21, 2013 at 6:40 am

    If you haven’t called the person in several years it doesn’t matter.
    First of all, get familiar with the Advanced People
    Search function (which will make your life easier throughout your job search).
    Newspapers and the media have been dominating our lives for the past
    few weeks.

  8. 9 online backup assistant November 12, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    This site certainly has all of the information and facts I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know
    who to ask.

  9. 10 online backup sky November 18, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web site, and your views are good in support of new people.

  10. 11 Verna November 20, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely useful info particularly the last part :) I care for such info a lot.

    I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you
    and best of luck.

  11. 12 http://eventsdomain.com/Courtney8/info/ November 22, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in truth used to be
    a leisure account it. Glance complicated to more added agreeable from you!

    However, how can we communicate?

  12. 13 Http://Tempsumude.Lhosting.Info/ November 23, 2013 at 6:03 am

    Your means of explaining the whole thing in this paragraph is genuinely good,
    every one be capable of simply understand it, Thanks a lot.

  13. 14 Joseph December 8, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    I’m not sure why but this web site is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  14. 15 IT Services NY December 9, 2013 at 6:40 am

    This page really has all of the information and facts I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t
    know who to ask.

  15. 16 Noella December 14, 2013 at 8:22 am

    Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no data backup.

    Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

  16. 17 ruggedpcstore.com December 14, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also
    pay a visit this webpage on regular basis to obtain updated from
    hottest news.

  17. 18 Neva December 15, 2013 at 5:08 am

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and
    in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  18. 19 Dena December 29, 2013 at 8:57 am

    Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog
    world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?

    Any help would be really appreciated!

  19. 20 http://onenewsbd24.com December 29, 2013 at 9:00 am

    Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing
    very good gains. If you know of any please share.
    Appreciate it!

  20. 21 website January 9, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    Thank you for the favorable writeup. That in reality was a enjoyment accounts the idea. Look complicated to be able to much more additional pleasant from you finding out! By the way, precisely how may possibly we all connect?

  21. 22 bloggen February 4, 2014 at 5:51 am

    Great whip! I would like to apprentice although you amend your blog, how do i signed up for any website? Your account reduced the problem a new proper cope. My partner and i ended up being a small amount recognizable in this your current transmit available bright crystal clear idea

  22. 23 witing essay March 31, 2014 at 11:54 am

    I think this is one of the most significant information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some
    general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really great : D.
    Good job, cheers

  23. 24 mortgage rate refinance calculator April 18, 2014 at 7:33 am

    We are a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in
    our community. Your website offered us with useful information
    to work on. You have done an impressive job and our entire neighborhood will
    likely be grateful to you.

  24. 25 m&i bank April 21, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    You made some good points there. I looked
    on the internet to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with
    your views on this website.

  25. 26 Kandice April 23, 2014 at 10:04 am

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I
    am impressed! Very useful info specifically the closing section :) I deal with such info a lot.
    I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.


  1. 1 Nearly at the top of that first hill | Rhonabwy Trackback on November 13, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

